Instances not retaining the name?

Gary Turner

Hello

I have a usability issue I wanted to run past some people, I am a complete rookie so I will describe the steps I took;
  • 1. I created a business capability (Knowledge Management)
    2. Then I added a business process (Manage Relationships) and linked it to the capability, all good so far.
    3. Then I try to add a physical process (Close Relationships) and relate it to the business process.
    4. I create a new instance and select the process from the 'Implements Business Process' field.
    5. Then in the name field I see '::Manage Relationships'
    6. I modify it to read 'Close Relationships::Manage Relationships'
    7. I have tried variations; no spaces, removing one of the colons, adding 'to' between the colons.
    8. Whenever I click off the instance in the instance browser, then select the instance again, everything except '::Manage Relationships' is lost from the name.
I must be missing something or doing something wrong, hopefully you can help!

Many Thanks
Gary
Kevin Campbell

Gary

Frightening to think I'd be attempting to answer a question having asked so many myself :-)

Several of the name fields within Essential are system generated - this is one of them. Try populating the "Process performed by actor role" field and you'll see what comes before the :: in the generated name.

The physical process is a specific instance of a logical process with the addition of the "who and how" added, so you'll actually need to have "close relationship" as a logical business process first before you can create a physical instance of that process being performed by an actor.